View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)   IP:
Old 2008-02-08
steagall1000 steagall1000 is offline
Banned Indefinitely
Join Date: 2007 Jul
Location: Homer, Georgia
Posts: 30
steagall1000 is on a distinguished road
Cool $1000.00 speeding tickets in Georgia :(

For Georgia residents reading this forum, This information is very important to know, and why Laser Jammers are so important. This came from the Times Union Herald news paper.. Here is the Link for this article

Last modified 5/20/2007 - 9:02 am
Originally created 052007


By CAROLE HAWKINS, Times-Union correspondent

BRUNSWICK - On the lookout for Georgia's worst speed traps? Here's something a radar detector won't tell you - the price of a speeding ticket in South Georgia can vary by as much as $850, depending on where you happen to get caught.
Compare auto insurance quotes from top companies online.

Georgia's motorists also pay some of the highest speeding tickets in the country. Georgia is one of only five states allowing fines up to $1,000. By contrast, 33 states charge motorists $250 or less.

In October, Jennifer Parrish, 19, of Marietta was driving to Florida to join her father for the Georgia-Florida football game when she was pulled over for speeding in McIntosh County.

"I realize it's important not to speed so fast your car can go out of control," she said, "but I was just following traffic. Other people were going just as fast, but I was the one that happened to get pulled over."

Parrish got a $705 ticket for driving 95 mph in a 70 mph zone. The same ticket in Glynn County, a few miles south, would have cost her $132.

Traffic fines are set in one of two ways. Counties may try cases based on state fines or adopt their own ordinances with a range of fines. Locally adopted fines must not exceed those allowed by state law.

Glynn and Camden counties ticket nearly $100 for speeds as little as 1 mile per hour over the limit. They increase their rates gradually - topping out around $500 - for higher speeds.

Wayne and Pierce counties, by contrast, punish super-speeders, doubling fines when motorists go more than 30 miles per hour over the limit.

In McIntosh County, motorists pay little or nothing when traveling less than 10 mph over the limit. But at more than 24 miles over the limit, the county socks drivers with fines of $705 or more.

If these differences weren't tricky enough, cities have their own separate fee schedules. Waycross drivers are fined $229.13 at the most extreme speeds. But just outside city limits, Ware County charges its speeders up to $700. Keep going to Pierce County and the top speeding ticket goes back down to $560.

Parrish doesn't deny that it's wrong to speed, but called the $705 for her ticket shocking.

"I don't think it's fair. You can buy a really good used car for that amount," she said, adding that a $400 maximum fine would be more reasonable.

Joe Dolson, 34, of Parkersburg, W.Va., agreed. Rushing to find a restroom, Dolson also was caught speeding through McIntosh County.

"I understand they're trying to slow down traffic along I-95," he said, "but $705 for a ticket - that's kind of extreme."

Dolson didn't think he was going 95 miles per hour and didn't like the fine either, but said he wasn't going to drive all the way down from West Virginia to fight the ticket in court.

Fair or not, fines for speeders soon could go even higher.

Gov. Sonny Perdue has introduced Super Speeder legislation that could be up for adoption during the 2008 session of the General Assembly. If passed, the law would add an extra $200 penalty when drivers go above 84 mph anywhere in the state or above 74 mph on a two-lane road.
Reply With Quote