View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)   IP: 24.108.24.231
Old 2009-09-17

esprit888 is on a distinguished road

Thanks again Michael, I must confess that this has become something of an obsession now, as an engineer I want to make sense of what I believe was an error. If I am overposting I apologise but I would like to locate the optimum distance (in this I also apologise to Craig, as perhaps I am searching for the answer I want ) I understand a letter is not realistic but my request would have been along the lines of the factory training guidlines, which may include such information as : 'Do not exceed XXX meters without a tripod or do not exceed XXX with other vehicles within XXX proximity'

I was able to obtain the users manual for the LTI UL LRB (2nd edition 2002) unfortunately it only gives the specifications for min & Max range(Even then its a little vague as it states an 'absolute maximum of ABOUT 1000 meters and can vary dependant upon various factors such as target') and does not indicate an optimal distance or a distance that should not be exceeded hand held (such as can be found in the 20/20 or 100 manuals) I should have saved myself a bunch of time by simply going to the bottom of this page and clicked on similar postings as there is a very informative blog copy from the NMA (sections pasted below)

‘While it’s possible to clock a target that is 2000 to 3000 feet away the speed reading is of dubious accuracy and highly prone to error. On a clear day with no other traffic in sight a good laser operator can obtain reasonably accurate readings out to 1200, perhaps 1500 feet. However, if there are other vehicles present those distances should be halved.’